FIRST logo


FIRST ® Championship:  Prepare to be Inspired

Prepare to be inspired as you watch tens of thousands of students compete on the world stage at the FIRST ® Championship presented by Qualcomm® Incorporated. With all the heart-pounding thrills and team spirit of a professional sporting event, FIRST uses robotics as the backbone for the “only sport where every kid can go pro.” Guided by mentors and STEM professionals, and supported by FIRST Sponsors, FIRST teams inspire kids in grades K-12 to explore the innovation process and build STEM and digital-literacy skills. Watch the exciting competitions and visit teams in the “pits.” We guarantee you will leave impressed.


Save the Dates

Join us at the FIRST Championship

For nearly 30 years, FIRST has engaged millions of people in a global movement to build problem solvers who transform our world. Each year, the FIRST community celebrates young innovators through high-quality, inspiring, life-changing experiences, the culmination of which is the FIRST Championship. In 2018, our dual Championship will be celebrated in Houston at the George R. Brown Convention Center and Minute Maid Park and in Detroit at the Cobo Center and Ford Field. Be prepared to witness something extraordinary – and we don’t mean the robots.

2018: Houston, TX: April 18-21 and Detroit, MI: April 25-28 Location advancement map (2018)
2019: Houston, TX: April 17-20 and Detroit, MI: April 24-27
2020: Houston, TX: April 15-18 and Detroit, MI: April 29-May 2


Local Organizing Committees - Houston & Detroit

Like the Host Committee for an Olympic Games, the FIRST Championship Local Organizing Committees are comprised of Host City leaders and luminaries who help inspire those on the front lines of businesses and civic/thought leadership in their community. Their goal is to support FIRST in the delivery of a successful global-scale, life-changing event with local flavor.

FIRST Championship Houston Welcome Committee (2017 – 2020)

Welcoming Committee Honorary Chairs

  • Mayor Sylvester Turner 
  • Jim Crane, President, The Houston Astros 
  • Joel Bartsch, Director, The Houston Museum of National Science  
  • Dean Kamen, Founder, FIRST   
  • Judy Ley Allen, Partner, Allen Investments  
  • Dr. Robert Robbins, President & CEO, Texas Medical Center
  • Mike Waterman, President, Greater Houston Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • Don Bossi, President, FIRST 
  • Dr. Bernard Harris, Founder, The Harris Foundation

To express interest in serving on the Committee, please contact Mr. Ron Falcone.

FIRST Championship Detroit Host Committee (2018-2020)

Host Committee Co-Chairs

  • Rick Snyder, Governor, State of Michigan
  • Mary Barra, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, General Motors Company

Host Committee Members

  • Dean Kamen, Founder, FIRST   
  • Don Bossi, President, FIRST 

To express interest in serving on the Committee, please contact Mr. Ron Falcone.

Membership as of 1 February 2018